Nominations for candidates to stand for election for the Borough Council have now closed.  Polling Day is on Thursday 2 May and voting hours are from 7am to 10pm.

The Borough of Broxbourne comprises ten electoral wards and the successful candidates will each serve a four-year term of office. There is one seat up for election in each ward with the exception of the Broxbourne and Hoddesdon South ward where there are two seats.

Jim Metcalf (Conservative) recently resigned as one of the councillors for this ward before his term of office ended. This vacancy will therefore be filled in conjunction with the scheduled election for this ward. The candidate receiving the most votes will serve for a four-year term of office and the candidate with the second highest number of votes will serve for the balance of Jim Metcalf’s term of office, which is until May 2022.

There are four parties fielding candidates at the election.  Conservative, Labour and Liberal Democrats are contesting all ten wards and the British National Party is contesting one ward. 

Councillors Bren Perryman (Hoddesdon Town and Rye Park), Tim Hutchings (Broxbourne and Hoddesdon South) and Neil Harvey (Waltham Cross) are not seeking re-election.

The date to register to vote has already passed and it is no longer possible to apply for a postal vote for this election. Electors who wish to appoint a proxy (another person) to vote on their behalf need to apply to the Council by 5pm on Wednesday 24 April.

A full list of candidates is available on the Council’s website