Nominations for the Pride of Stevenage Awards 2017 are now open for you to celebrate the achievements of Stevenage people who go the extra mile.

The Pride of Stevenage Awards recognise those wonderful people who give their time, passion and skills to help make Stevenage a great place to live, work and play.

Residents, workers and visitors to the town are invited to nominate friends, colleagues, local businesses and anyone else that makes great things happen in Stevenage. A panel of judges will select the winners and the awards will be presented at a prestigious community reception in the autumn, when the Judges’ Special Pride Award will also be presented.

“We have such a strong community spirit in Stevenage and there are so many people who work tirelessly to make life better and easier in their neighbourhoods and throughout the town. The Pride of Stevenage Awards are a chance for us to come together and say thank you to some of Stevenage’s great people and the amazing work they do for us,” said Stevenage Borough Council leader Cllr Sharon Taylor, who is Chair of the awards’ judges.

“We’ve honoured some remarkable people over the years and this year will be no different so please get your nominations in before Friday 11 August.  By giving up a couple of minutes to nominate people or projects, you will be helping to recognise awareness of some of the town’s unsung heroes and all the work they do for Stevenage.”

The seven Pride of Stevenage Award categories to nominate in are: Caring Award, Dedication Award, Enterprise Award, Green Award, Sporting Award, Team Award, and Young Star Award.

Previous winners have included The Friends of Hampson Park, Stevenage Community Food Bank and Camps Hill Schoolas well as individuals who have made a difference in their communities.

There are opportunities for local businesses to support the Pride of Stevenage Awards with sponsorship. Email more information.

Nomination forms and information about the entry criteria can be found online at and paper forms are available at the Customer Service Centre in Danestrete.

Nominations must be made by 11 August 2017.